The Doors - L.A. Woman Hybrid Multichannel & Stereo SACD Analogue Productions

The Doors - L.A. Woman Hybrid Multichannel & Stereo SACD Analogue Productions

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Multichannel Hybrid SACD!
Mastered by Doug Sax and overseen by Bruce Botnick, The Doors producer/engineer.

The surround sound program on the Doors SACDs comes from the original 96K, 24-bit files mixed and mastered by Bruce Botnick for the DVD Audio Doors/Perception release. Those mixes were made from the original one-inch, eight track, 15 i.p.s. analog master tapes. For the SACDs, the mixes were then up-sampled without filters to DSD using the Weiss Saracon format converter and authored by Gus Skinas at the Super Audio Center.

The title track from this, the last Doors album recorded with Jim Morrison, who died shortly after it was released, has, said one reviewer, ''maybe the best Chuck Berry riffs since the Stones.'' And that's not even mentioning ''Love Her Madly,'' which became one of the highest charting hits for The Doors.

''Love Her Madly,'' was written by Doors guitarist Robbie Krieger, who is said to have penned the song about the numerous times his girlfriend threatened to leave him. The song peaked at No. 11 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and reached No. 3 in Canada.

L.A. Woman was still high on the charts when, like in the lyric ''actor out on loan'' of its closing track - the celebrated ''Riders on the Storm,'' Jim Morrison died in a Paris bathtub in the summer of 1971.

Via such tracks as ''The Changeling,'' ''Crawling King Snake,'' and the frothy, rollicking title track, the collection leaned heavily toward the Blues - in particular, Morrison's boastful ''Lizard King'' brand of it. All-in-all, Rolling Stone proclaimed L.A. Woman, ''The Doors' greatest album, including their first,'' and ''A landmark worthy of dancing in the streets.''

This is no time to wallow in the mire. The Doors are on Analogue Productions!

1. The Changeling
2. Love Her Madly
3. Been Down So Long
4. Cars Hiss by My Window
5. L. A. Woman
6. L'America
7. Hyacinth House
8. Crawling King Snake
9. The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)
10. Riders On The Storm

UPC: 753088501166