Patricia Barber - Modern Cool 180 Gram Vinyl 2xLP Audiophile Vinyl, Gatefold OOP

Patricia Barber - Modern Cool 180 Gram Vinyl 2xLP Audiophile Vinyl, Gatefold OOP

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Now out of print - only a few copies left

Patricia Barber's Modern Cool (Premonition Records, 1998) was the recording that made Barber an international jazz star. On the initial tour for this album, Barber played a four night stand at The Jazz Standard in New York where she was heard by Bruce Lundvall of Blue Note Records. This led to a string of Barber recordings for both Premonition and Blue Note, worldwide touring and unapologetic critical acclaim from which Barber never looked back.

Audiophiles were well aware of Barber from her 1994 Premonition recording Cafe Blue. Sonically, Modern Cool copied the Cafe Blue playbook: same recording studio, engineer, and recording approach. Musically, Barber added trumpeter Dave Douglas to her stellar working band and showcased her original compositions more than on any previous recording.

Like Cafe Blue, Modern Cool has been released in multiple formats, including 2013's Grammy winning Surround Sound edition. This LP version is newly remastered by the legendary Doug Sax from the original analog mixes and is sure to be a strong addition to the Barber audiophile oeuvre.

''Sonically, one of the best recordings ever made by a jazz singer with small acoustic ensemble.'' -Downbeat, rated 5 stars

''Smart songs about the way we think and live, not just about the way we love. This is the kind of art we need to be on the lookout for everywhere. The 21st century has started. We can't afford to be left behind.'' -New York Times

''Record to Die For.'' -Stereophile

* 180 Gram High-Quality Audiophile Vinyl
* Double LP
* 33 1/3rpm Speed
* Mastered for Vinyl by Doug Sax from the original analog mixes, The Mastering Lab, Ojai, CA
* Pressed at Quality Record Pressings (QRP)
* Heavy Full Color Gatefold Jacket
* Distributed Worldwide Exclusively by Elusive Disc!

Side One:
1. Touch of Trash
2. Winter
3. Let It Rain
Side Two:
1. Company
2. Silent Partner
3. Light My Fire
Side Three:
1. You & The Night & The Music
2. Love Put On Your Faces
3. She's A Lady
Side Four:
1. Constantinople
2. Postmodern Blues
3. Let It Rain - Vamp