Gergely Boganyi - Chopin The Complete Nocturnes - Direct Cut Hybrid Stereo 2-SACD Set

Gergely Boganyi - Chopin The Complete Nocturnes - Direct Cut Hybrid Stereo 2-SACD Set

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.


This Double Hybrid-SACD includes a 16bit hybrid layer and can therefore be played on any CD-Player! DSD stereo-sound requires SACD player for playback.

Gergely Boganyi is regarded as one of the most exceptional pianists of our time. Gergely Boganyi has been appointed a Citizen of Honour in his native town Vac at the exceptionally young age of 22. In 2000 he was awarded the Liszt Prize by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage, in 2002 the Cross of Merit of the White Rose of Finland by the President of the Finnish Republic, and in 2004 he received the highest artistic award of Hungary, the Kossuth Prize.

Gergely Boganyi was so affected by the recent SACD piano recordings from Northeim, that he decided spontaneously to play a selection of his Chopin repertoire for Stockfish Records. Gunter Pauler was quick off the mark and prepared the microphones. During two night sessions Gergely Boganyi recorded all of the 21 Nocturnes by Frederic Chopin - an amazing performance of concentration and musicianship! Boganyi's piano playing is really fascinating, because he becomes one with Chopin's genius.

On the SACD the sound is recorded in DSD format. The sampling frequency (2.8224 MHz) is 64 times that of a traditional CD. Furthermore, DSD uses 1-bit quantization. With the aid of this technology an even broader frequency range and even greater dynamics can be achieved over the entire useful audio range.

For this DIRECT-CUT SACD with Gergely Boganyi the SADiE DSD8 system was used for the recording, processing and mastering. The signal from the microphones is mixed to stereo in the analogue domain, converted to DSD with the emmLABs ADC8 MkIV and recorded as DSD signal to the SADiE system. This recording is maintained in DSD format throughout the processing stages. The end result is then obtained in the SADiE DSD8 - the "cutting master" (AIT Tape) - which is later transferred directly to an SACD glass master in the pressing plant.

This Direct-Cut SACD will enable the listener to hear the true DSD sound of the FAZIOLI F 308 grand piano - pure and pristine. The hybrid layer which guarantees downward compatibility contains the 16-bit PCM stereo program derived from the DSD mix.


Until now it was practically impossible to maintain the DSD format throughout the entire edit/mix/mastering sequence during production. This was because no system is yet available which permitted the necessary processing in the 1-bit format after a DSD recording. This meant that the unavoidable editing procedures such as gain leveling, mixing, cross-fades or even additional EQing or dynamics processing could be achieved only by downconverting to PCM format 

Stockfisch used a SADiE DSD8 system for the recording, processing and mastering of this DIRECT-CUT-SUPER-AUDIO-CD: a brand-new system that allows simultaneous recording of 8 channels. The analogue signal from the microphone is converted at the input to DSD and is also maintained in DSD-Wide format with 2,8224 MHz throughout the processing stages already mentioned. The end result is then obtained in the SADiE DSD8 the "cutting master" (AIT tape) which is then transferred directly to an SACD glass master in the pressing plant.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Direct Cut SACD

Gergely Boganyi, piano

Frederic Chopin
Complete Nocturnes
Disc 1:
1. Op. 9, No. 1, b flat minor
2. Op. 9, No. 2, E flat Major
3. Op. 9, No. 3, B Major
4. Op. 15, No. 1, F Major
5. Op. 15, No. 2, F sharp Major
6. Op. 15, No. 2, g minor
7. Op. 27, No. 1, c sharp minor
8. Op. 27, No. 2, D flat Major
9. Op. 32, No.1 , B Major
10. Op. 32, No. 2, A flat Major
Disc 2:
1. Op. 37, No.1, g minor
2. Op. 37, No. 2, G Major
3. Op. 48, No. 1, c minor
4. Op. 48, No. 2, f sharp minor
5. Op. 55, No.1, f minor
6. Op. 55, No.2, E flat Major
7. Op. 62, No. 1, B Major
8. Op. 62, No. 2, E Major
9. Op. posth. 72, No. 1, e minor
10. KK IVb, No. 8, c minor
11. KK IVa No. 16, c sharp minor