Ernest Ansermet - The Royal Ballet Gala Performances 2 SACD Box Set with Booklet

Ernest Ansermet - The Royal Ballet Gala Performances 2 SACD Box Set with Booklet

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

SACD layer contains both the stereo mix (mastered by Bernie Grundman), mono mix (mastered by Willem Makkee)
CD layer only contains the stereo mix

In the hearts of thousands, No. 1 on the Top RCA list. While the bulk of Ansermet's recordings were made with L'Orchestre de la Susise Romande, there were a few with the Paris Conservatoire Orchestra and the very occasional foray into recordings with London orchestras, one of these being with the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in 1959.

Audiophilia Online Magazine wrote: "This is the stuff of which dreams are made. The Royal Ballet Gala is one of the finest RCAs recorded in London's Kingsway Hall. The chunks of great ballet music are well served by orchestra, conductor and engineer. Performances are executed to a very high standard - the Royal Opera House Orchestra, both then and now, rank as one of the finest of opera orchestras.

"Conductor Ansermet keeps the pace moving, giving the listener the impression of a dance event rather than a dramatic concert hall reading. With the exception of some of the Tchaikovsky scenes, the music is light and remains so under Ansermet's gentle touch. Each ballet is given full attention by the players, something not always attained at Covent Garden during long ballet nights! The threat of eternity does have it's merits. The recorded sound is simply amazing! Lustrous is one word that comes to mind, accurate is another.

"Tonally, Messrs. Williamson and Wilkinson have used their considerable talents to capture the orchestra superbly. Woodwind and strings glow and resonate, transporting this listener to a time when simpler recording was better. Brass ring out thrillingly and percussion effects are very musical. Be it a bang, swish, rattle, crack or snap, each percussionist is situated perfectly within the beautiful Kingsway soundstage. Even the difficult-to-record sound of the celeste is captured in it's purely mechanical form. It's delicate sound is heard to great effect during the Nutcracker - originating stage left, the sound decays across the stage of Kingsway with sparkling beauty. Wonderful."

Disc One:
The Nutcracker Suite
1. March
2. Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
3. Arabian Dance (Coffee)
4. Chinese Dance (Tea)
5. Dance Of The Toy Flutes
6. Waltz Of The Flowers
La Boutique Fantasque
7. Tarantella
8. Andante mosso
9. Can-can
10. Act I: Prelude - Allegro Marcato And Mazurka
11. Introduction - Andante And Waltz
12. Czardas
13. Act II: Valse De La Poupee
14. Act I: Introduction And Waltz
15. Act II: Pas De Deux And Variation

Disc Two:
Swan Lake
1. Act II: Scene (Moderato)
2. Dance Of The Little Swans (Moderato)
3. Scene - Pas De Deux
4. Waltz
5. Pierrot
6. Reconnaissance
7. Aveu
8. Pantalon Et Columbine
The Sleeping Beauty
9. Introduction: Prologue - The Lilac Fairy
10. Act I: Rose Adagio - Pas d'Action
11. Waltz
Les Sylphides
12. Overture: Prelude In A Major, Op. 28, No. 7
13. Mazurka In C Major, Op. 67, No. 3
14. Grande Valse Brillante In E Flat, Op. 18

UPC: 753088606564